Most states use a point system, which allows them to track drivers who are convicted of violating traffic laws.
Accumulated points can lead to severe consequences, such as higher insurance rates. As your criminal defense lawyer can advise you, conviction of DWI charges can also result in points on your license.
The points system is known as the Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) because it encourages safe driving on the roads. If you are given a citation for a traffic offense, you will receive two points for basic moving violations, and three points if your violation resulted in an accident. These points will remain on your record for a period of three years.
What exactly are basic moving violations? According to the DMV, some of the most common moving violations in Texas that result in two points on your record include:
- Failure to use turning signals
- Running a red light or stop sign
- Unsafe lane changes
- Leaving the scene of an accident (hit and run)
- Reckless driving
- Driving too slow
- Driving over 10% above the speed limit
- Failure to yield to pedestrians
- Not properly restraining your child in the backseat
- Illegally passing a vehicle
- Driving too close to the vehicle in front of you (tailgating)
- Driving with open containers of alcohol in the car
In certain situations, you can have the points removed from your record if you provide proof that you took a defensive driving course. Anyone who has a commercial driver’s license is not eligible to take this course in exchange for removing the points. Even if you are eligible, certain restrictions apply. You can only do this once a year, and some violations cannot be removed from your record with this course. These violations include leaving the scene of an accident, driving over 25 mph over the speed limit, driving without insurance, and trying to get around a parked school bus.
As you accumulate more points, you are seen as a riskier driver by the state of Texas. If you commit four moving violations within one year, your license will be suspended. It will also be suspended if you commit seven moving violations within two years.
But, you will also have your license immediately suspended if you are using drugs or alcohol behind the wheel, drinking under the legal age, involved in a fatal accident, or if you cause an accident while uninsured.
There are other penalties to accumulating points on your record. For example, if you have six or more points on your record, you will have to pay an additional fee when you are given a traffic ticket. If you have six points, the additional charge will be $100, but it goes up by $25 for each additional point above six.
Is your license suspended because of DUI charges? If you’re facing DUI charges in Dallas, you can rely on the legal team at the Law Offices of Jeffrey C. Grass. Call (972) 954-4441 today to schedule a consultation with our criminal defense attorney, during which we’ll discuss strategies for fighting criminal charges.